What a fabulous opening weekend of volleyball! A huge thank you to all of the coaches,
athletic directors, and workers who made all of our tournaments and duals a success. |
want to especially thank the coaches for their patience and understanding as our
officials adapt to the new second contact rule. It will take some time for everyone to
adjust, but | really appreciate our ability to all work together. Remember to let the
WHSAA know, by filling out the on-line forms, if you have any Good Sportsmanship or
Rookie of the Week nominations. | have included a link to the 2025-26 Rules
Comparisons for NCAA/NJCAA/USA/NFHS volleyball. | know that many of us are
involved in these different areas, so hopefully this can be a good resource to help keep
all of the differences in check. Thanks again for ALL that you do--"It Takes a Village"!!

Kathy Hamer-Smith
khsmithvb@yahoo.com
307-534-6816

https://krva.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/2025 RuleComparison NCAA-NFHS-
USAV-1.pdf

Net Play Reminders (things to keep in mind as the play develops)

o Is the ball in the plane of the net? If so, it is fair game for both the setter and
blocker.

o |s the setter a front-row or back row player? If the setter is in the back row, the
height of the ball matters. If the ball is not completely above the height of the net,
no issues. If the ball is completely above the height of the net, and the setter
touches the ball first, causing the ball to contact a blocker's hands, the setter is
guilty of a back-row attack (signal #7). If the blocker played the ball first (or it is
simultaneous contact) and the setter is contacting the ball completely above the
height of the net, it is an illegal block by the setter (signal #8).

Joust at the Net (things to keep in mind as the play develops)

« If after the simultaneous contact the ball land out of bounds, it is considered to
have last been contacted by the player on the opposite side of the net from which
the ball lands (9-4-6d)

« If the ball remains in play, the team receiving the ball is entitled to 3 more hits,
and the player involved in the joust is allowed to make the first contact.

« If the ball rolls along the net and hits an antenna, it is considered a double fault
(meaning both players are equally responsible) and the rally is replayed.

Points to Ponder

Situation: During team warm-ups, the officials notice a player on Team A is wearing
plastic beads at the end of long braids. The braids are: (a) pulled back and secured in
an elastic hair band; (b) free flowing, allowing the braids with beads to sway back and
forth as the player moves. Ruling: (a) legal, (b) illegal. Comment: Hair control devices
and other adornments in the hair that are securely fastened and do not present a risk of
injury to the player, teammates or opponents are permitted. In (b) the long hair with
beads swaying back and forth can present a risk. The official shall notify the coach of
Team A and allow the player to make the equipment legal by securing the

beads. (Casebook page 14 Situation 4.1.6 A)




