
VOLLEYGRAM #5 – 9/8/2025 
 
As the third week of the season approaches, I would like to give a big shout out to the amazing 
student/athletes we have in our state. The level of play has increased in just two weeks, and this 
makes for very exciting volleyball across the state. This would not be possible without the dedication 
of our hardworking coaching staffs.  As officials we salute all the time and effort that you put in daily to 
help your student/athletes grow. Below are questions from this past week, an officiating mechanic of 
the week, information from the NFHS Early Season zoom meeting, and "points to 
ponder".  Remember to get your Post-Season forms to Lana, along with any Good Sportsmanship or 
Rookie of the Week nominations.  
 Thanks for ALL that you do--"It Takes a Village"! 
Kathy Hamer-Smith 
  
Questions    
1, Does the NFHS have a Pursuit Rule? (NO)--it is only legal if the ball is contacted before it breaks 
the plane of the net. The player may then cross the extension of the center line outside the court 
provided there is no interference with the opposing team's ability to play the ball. They may also 
return under the net, in the center line extended area outside the court, as long as there is no 
interference.  (Case Book pages 37-38  9.5.8 b&c) 
2. Is it legal for the back row player to go up for a single block? (Yes) A back row player has not 
committed a fault unless contact occurs and there is a completed block.  If they jump to block and 
don't touch the ball it is legal. 
3. Is it legal for a back row player to participate in a collective block (more than one player)?  (Yes), 
as long as no player involved in the block touches the ball.  If any blocking player touches it, and the 
back row player doesn't, it is still illegal for the back row player since they were involved in a 
successful collective blocking attempt.  If no players touch the ball, it is not a blocking fault.  
4.  If the home management chooses not to switch benches, is it legal to switch during the deciding 
set?  (NO).. Once it has been determined to not switch it must be carried out to the conclusion of the 
match. 
5.  What are the coin flip options for the deciding set?  Scenario #1 (teams switch benches) they get 
to choose serve, receive, or side.  Scenario #2 (teams don't switch benches) they would get to decide 
serve or receive.  
  
Mechanic to Spotlight for the Week  
1.  R1 mirrors the R2's signal for time-out and substitutions (Rule Book page 24   #6) 
  
NFHS Early Season Zoom Information 
1.  Undergarment clarification-- 

 Tops--any visible garment (t-shirt, body suits and other similar garments) worn underneath the 
top that is not an unadorned single, color similar to the predominant color can be solid black, 
white or gray.  All team members, other than the libero, must wear the same color undershirt. 
This does not mean that all players must all wear an undergarment under their shirt. 
(Example:  if one teammate wears a black undergarment then another play can't wear a white 
undergarment--they must be the same color for each player) 

 Bottoms--if not the predominant color of the uniform shorts, they can be solid black, white, or 
gray and may extend below the uniform bottom.  All team members, other than the libero, must 
wear the same color undergarment.   All team members don't have to wear an undergarment 
under their shorts.   

 The undergarments under the top and bottom don't have to be the same color. 
(Example:  Players can have on a white undergarment under their top and a black 
undergarment under their shorts--however, they must be the same-colored undergarments for 
each player). 



 Compression sleeves--can be any color or design, and they can have the thumb hole in them 
that causes them to extend over the hand.  Players don't have to be alike as these are in the 
same category as knee pads, socks, and shoes. They may be padded.  

 Skid gloves--worn over the hand (usually with part of the fingers exposed) to protect the palm 
of the hand when diving for a ball are legal.   

Points to Ponder 
1.  Situation:  A player from Team S, attempting to save a ball, that is outside the boundary of the 
court in a playable area, steps across the extension of the center line to play a ball which has (a) 
partially crossed the vertical plane of the net extended; (b) completely crossed the vertical plane of 
the net extended.  Ruling: (a) legal, (b) out-of-bounds loss of rally/point.  Case Book page 38  9.5.8 c 
2.  Situation: The RB on Team S who is close to the net and in the vicinity of the ball: (a) fakes an 
attack; (b) attempts to block.  Ruling: (a) and (b) both legal.  Comment: An attempt to block is only a 
fault for the libero.  Case Book page 37   9.5.5.b   
  
 


