
VOLLEYGRAM #6 – 9/15/2025 

Thanks to all the teams, coaches, officials, and communities for another very successful 
week of volleyball action.  Don't forget to turn in your post-season form, good 
sportsmanship selections, and your Rookie of the Week nominee(s).  Also, just a 
reminder that there are state-wide zoom meetings on Monday nights at 8:00, and 
Wednesday nights at 6:00.  If you have any questions regarding any of these items, 
please contact Lana at the WHSAA office.   
"It Takes a Village" 
Kathy Hamer-Smith 
  
Please check the players during warmups for illegal footwear (slippers, sandals-- 
including Crocks, Birkenstocks etc. are not legal).  Also, check for Air Buds! 
  
Questions 
1.  Is it legal to substitute more than one player in to serve during one team's term of 
service?  (Yes---Rule 8.1.5). Does each player get to have a re-serve during that team's 
term of service? (Yes--Casebook page 31 Re-Serve 8.1.5 situation). 
2.  What is the protocol for the deciding set?  (Rule book page 25 C 1-3)).  A signal to 
focus on is that the R2 communicates the result of the coin toss to the R1 by extending 
an outstretched arm to the side of the team that will serve first.  
3.  What is the penalty if the libero is listed with a number that no team member is 
wearing?  (Rule book page 33, Art. 4, a 2).  For the libero you change the incorrect 
number to the legal number with no penalty assessed.  
4.  When does the R1 use the four-hit signal? (a) anytime a team has more than three 
hits before the ball is returned over the net. (b) when the same player makes both the 
3rd and 4th team contacts.   
5.  What are the proper mechanics for the R2 when calling a net fault or center line 
violation? (2024-25 Case book Officials Manual page 75).  1. whistle and step to the 
offending team's side. 2. signal the fault--net violation signal #6, line violation signal #2, 
3. indicate to the R1 the player number, 4. mirror the R1's signal for loss of rally/point. 
6.  What is the signal if the multiple contact on the second hit goes over the net to the 
opponent?  (Rule book page 38, 4.8c)--this is considered a multiple contact, signal #11 
two hits.  Prolonged contact and multiple attempts to play the ball are still illegal hit 
faults signal #3. 
7.  What happens if a player enters the substitution zone and is recognized by the R2, 
but then the coach withdraws the substitution request?  Unnecessary Delay (yellow 
card) and the player does not have to enter. 
(Rule book page 42 article 1 f, also see penalties 1 & 2 on page 43).  
  
Mechanic Spotlight for the week 
During the pre-match warmup the R2 should sound a warning whistle (2 short whistles) 
when 15 seconds remain in each team's warmup period (i.e. during a 7-minute warmup 
blow the warning at 6:45.  Remember this is only a warning and they still have the court 
until the 7-minutes expire. (2024-25 Officials Manual, page 67). 
  
 



Points to Ponder 
1.  Situation:  With two minutes remaining on the pregame clock, the R2 discovers that 
Team S has: (a) submitted an inaccurate roster (wrong player number); (b) an unlisted 
teammate.  The set begins with a loss of rally/point awarded and the roster is 
corrected.  Ruling: both a & b correct. Comment:  An unlisted teammate is ineligible until 
the coach adds the player to the roster and is penalized.  There is no penalty if changes 
are made before 10 minutes remain on the pregame clock. Casebook page 28, 7.1.1 
situation A 
2, Situation:  A substitute enters the substitution zone for Team S.  The R2 recognizes 
the substitution and then the coach withdraws the request.  Ruling:  Unnecessary delay 
(yellow card) if first delay of the set; administrative red for any subsequent delays in that 
set and the coach does not have to remain seated. (Case book page 41, 9.1.1 B) 
  
 


